Official Statement from Flight Control 1000UTC (1100BST) 29th September 2010

Don Cameron, Race Director, has issued this statement at 1000UTC (1100BST) on 29th September 2010:

The last tracker report from USA2 (Richard Abruzzo and Carol Rymer Davis, aerostat registration N-801NM) was at 05.58 Z (06.58 BST) and ATC Brindisi have had no communication since then.

The Italian Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre have initiated an operation with a helicopter and fast boat although no ELT activation has been detected so far.

The Croatian authorities and all shipping have been informed. Thunderstorm activity has been reported in the area. We are very concerned, but can only wait for news now.